29 Days of Giving: Day 3

Just a short post today…one of those days where I definitely got up on the wrong side of the bed (or rolled off the wrong side of the couch, as it was).  Hormones suck.

My gift for today was a half off coupon to Jo-Ann Fabrics paired with a handmade thank you note.  My dear neighbor is working on a beautiful Queen of Hearts inspired handbag for me to take to Jump Back Ball next month.  She had me over to approve of her progress today, and to choose a handle.  The texture of the bag is so fun…almost feathery, very whimsical with a porcelain red rose near the clasp.  I was thrilled and touched by the details she clearly thought through for me 🙂  I know she frequents Jo-Ann’s, and I thought she might be able to splurge a bit for herself with the 50% off.  I tucked the coupon into a handmade card that I chose just for her..done in her favorite ‘airy’ colors, pastel blues and yellows, with lots of pretty little butterflies hovering around a newsprint insert.  She is a magnificent artist, and it’s cool to see her ‘coming into her own’.  I feel so fortunate to have her in our lives…we get to admire her beautiful artwork daily; I’ve never met someone talented in so many different mediums.

One of the assignments in Cami’s book is to identify items that are hard to part with, and explore why they are hard to give away.  After some reflection, it became clear that the hardest things for me to part with are those things that hold special memories.  Perhaps my life lesson that is to come from this experiment of giving, is to let go.  Do I really need 2 CRATES full of my daughter’s baby clothes, when someone else could put them to good use?  I think not.

Leave a Reply

